Day: May 8, 2015

6th Sunday of Easter 2015

Posted on

Gospel Reflection for the Sixth Sunday of Easter Year B – May 10th 2015

Full scripture for this Sunday is available on the Catholic Ireland website. Daily Scripture is also available. Our parish Prayers of the Faithful for this Sunday are made available on the Dublin Diocesan website.


SCRIPTURE

Jesus said to his disciples:

‘As the Father has loved me,
so I have loved you. Remain in my love.
If you keep my commandments
you will remain in my love,
just as I have kept my Father’s commandments
and remain in his love.
I have told you this
so that my own joy may be in you
and your joy be complete.
This is my commandment:
love one another,
as I have loved you.
A man can have no greater love
than to lay down his life for his friends.
You are my friends,
if you do what I command you.
I shall not call you servants any more,
because a servant does not know
his master’s business;
I call you friends,
because I have made known to you everything I have learnt from my Father.
You did not choose me,
no, I chose you;
and I commissioned you
to go out and to bear fruit,
fruit that will last;
and then the Father will give you
anything you ask him in my name.
What I command you
is to love one another.’

John 15:9-17


REFLECTION

This gospel is like a vision statement or a mission statement from Jesus. About finding joy in listening to Jesus, how to live the good life in love one another, how to love oneself in the love of God, and in directing our lives to bear fruit that will last. It’s a vision of love, call and service.

Central Statement
It is so central that it is read at many really important moments of a christian life. It is one of the most popular readings at a wedding, linking the love of God and human love at such a special time.

Jesus’ love was to lay down his life in a specific way. Our love lays down our life often in small, unforgotten ways. Hours spend with a sick child or parent, years caring for someone ill, leaving home on missionary assignments; giving up something for children. The message is a big challenge in simple ways for most of us.Jesus is Love

Joy
Isn’t it a joy to know that the most enjoyable mystery of life – love, is the biggest commandment of God. It shows us that God is on our side. His commandment is to do what we want most to do and experience – to love and be loved. Even when the love costs us something.

Can we sing/say Alleluia to that?

Donal Neary SJ